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RULE PROPOSALS

INTERESTED PERSONS

Interested persons may submit comments, information or arguments concerning any of the rule proposals in this issue until the date indicated in the
proposal. Submissions and any inquiries about submissions should be addressed to the agency officer specified for a particular proposal.

The required minimum period for comment concerning a proposal is 30 days. A proposing agency may extend the 30-day comment period to
accommodate public hearings or to elicit greater public response to a proposed new rule or amendment. Most notices of proposal include a 60-day
comment period, in order to qualify the notice for an exception to the rulemaking calendar requirements of N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3. An extended comment
deadline will be noted in the heading of a proposal or appear in subsequent notice in the Register.

At the close of the period for comments, the proposing agency may thereafter adopt a proposal, without change, or with changes not in violation of
the rulemaking procedures at N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3. The adoption becomes effective upon publication in the Register of a notice of adoption, unless otherwise
indicated in the adoption notice. Promulgation in the New Jersey Register establishes a new or amended rule as an official part of the New Jersey

Administrative Code.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW

(a)
HUMAN SERVICES
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
DIVISION OF FAMILY DEVELOPMENT

Special Hearing Rules

Work First New Jersey Program
Family Development Hearings
Emergency Fair Hearings

Jointly Proposed Amendments: N.J.A.C. 1:10-12.2
and 10:90-9.17

Authorized By: Barry E. Moscowitz, Acting Director, Office of
Administrative Law, and Sarah Adelman, Commissioner,
Department of Human Services.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 30:1-12 and 52:14F-5.e, f, and g.

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of
exception to calendar requirement.
Proposal Number: PRN 2025-099.
Submit comments in writing by October 17, 2025, to:
Megan R. Mazzoni, Administrative Practice Officer
Division of Family Development
PO Box 716
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0716
or email to: DFD-Regulations@dhs.nj.gov
AND
Thomas E. Harris Jr., Esq.
Office of Administrative Law
PO Box 049
Trenton, NJ 08625
or by email to: oal.comments@oal.nj.gov

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

The Office of Administrative Law (OAL) and Department of Human
Services (Department) jointly propose amendments at N.J.A.C. 1:10-12.2
and 10:90-9.17 to delete the reference to exceptions by telephone. For
many years, the standard practice of the Division of Family Development
(Division) has been to accept exceptions to initial decisions in writing only
because exceptions must be made part of the record. The OAL and the
Department now seek to make the rule reflect present practice. The
Department and OAL also jointly propose technical amendments to
update official titles.

As the Department of Human Services and the OAL are providing a
60-day comment period for this notice of proposal, this notice is excepted
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from the rulemaking calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-
3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The jointly proposed amendments impact the rules governing the fair
and efficient emergent hearing process for resolution of issues arising at
the Division. Updating the language to reflect the current practice of the
Division better informs the public and the legal community about the
conduct of these cases following an initial decision. The jointly proposed
amendments will better reflect that the current practice of the Division is
to accept exceptions to initial decisions in writing only.

Economic Impact
The jointly proposed amendments will have no economic impact,
beyond the cost of transmitting the exceptions in writing.

Federal Standards Statement
The jointly proposed amendments implement the Administrative
Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 and 52:14F-1 et seq. They also
implement Federal regulations at 7 CFR 273.15, 7 CFR 273.16, and 45
CFR 205.10, regarding fair hearings and Federal assistance programs. The
requirements of these rules are the same as those imposed by Federal law.
Therefore, a Federal standards analysis is not required.

Jobs Impact
The jointly proposed amendments will not result in the generation or
loss of jobs.

Agriculture Industry Impact
The jointly proposed amendments will have no impact on the
agriculture industry.

Regulatory Flexibility Statement
The jointly proposed amendments have been reviewed regarding
consideration of the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et
seq., and the proposed amendments impose no reporting, recordkeeping,
or other compliance requirements on small businesses, as the rules only
apply to individuals; therefore, a regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis
The jointly proposed amendments will have no impact on the
affordability of housing in New Jersey. It is highly unlikely that the jointly
proposed amendments would evoke a change in the average costs
associated with housing, as the rules concern filing exceptions to emergent
case hearings before the Division.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis
The jointly proposed amendments will have no impact on smart growth
and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the proposed amendments would
evoke a change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within
designated centers, pursuant to the State Development and
Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey, as the rules concern filing exceptions
to emergent case hearings before the Division.

(CITE 57 N.J.R. 1749)
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Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety
Impact
The Department has evaluated this rulemaking and determined that it
will not have an impact on pretrial detention, sentencing, probation, or
parole practices concerning adults and juveniles in the State. Accordingly,
no further analysis is required.

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus;
deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):

CHAPTER 10
FAMILY DEVELOPMENT HEARINGS

SUBCHAPTER 12. CONTINUED ELIGIBILITY; EMERGENCY
FAIR HEARINGS

1:10-12.2 Emergency fair hearings in TANF or General Assistance
cases

(a) When DFD determines that a request for hearing should be
scheduled as an emergency fair hearing:

1.-4. (No change.)

5. The petitioning applicant/recipient, his or her representative or the
[CWA] county social services agency or MWD may, [by telephone] in
writing, make exception or objection to the initial decision, to the DFD
no later than the first business day following the issuance of the initial
decision.

6. (No change.)

CHAPTER 90
WORK FIRST NEW JERSEY PROGRAM

SUBCHAPTER 9. NOTICES AND HEARINGS IN WFNJ

10:90-9.17 Emergency fair hearings

(a) (No change.)

(b) When it is determined that a request for hearing should be
scheduled as an emergency fair hearing:

1.-4. (No change.)

5. Only in emergency fair hearings may the applicant/recipient, his or
her representative, or the county or municipal agency take exception or
object to the [Initial Decision by a telephone call] initial decision, in
writing, to the DFD no later than the first business day following the
issuance of the [Initial Decision] initial decision.

6. The [Director] Assistant Commissioner of the DFD shall issue a
final decision no later than three business days following the date the
[Initial Decision] initial decision is received, which shall accept, reject,
or modify the [Initial Decision] initial decision. On the day the final
decision is issued, the DFD shall notify the county or municipal agency,
and the petitioner or the petitioner’s representative [by telephone], in
writing, of the final decision, and any relief ordered shall be provided by
the county or municipal agency on the day notice of the final decision is
received.

CHILDREN AND FAMILIES
(a)

CHILD PROTECTION AND PERMANENCY

Manual of Requirements for Resource Family
Parents and Manual of Requirements for Kinship
Resource Family Providers

Proposed Amendments: N.J.A.C. 3A:51-1.2,1.3, 2.1,
and 2.2

Proposed New Rules: N.J.A.C. 3A:51A

Authorized By: Christine Norbut Beyer, M.S.W., Commissioner,
Department of Children and Families.

(CITE 57 N.J.R. 1750)
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Authority: N.J.S.A. 9:3A-7f, 30:4C-4.h, 30:4C-26a, and 30:4C-
27.15.

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of
exception to calendar requirement.
Proposal Number: PRN 2025-105.
Submit written comments by October 17, 2025, to:
Joseph Pargola, Director
Office of Policy and Regulatory Development
Department of Children and Families
PO Box 717
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
Email: rules@dcf.nj.gov

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

N.J.A.C. 3A:51, Manual of Requirements for Resource Family Parents,
governs the licensure of resource family parents by the Office of
Licensing, Division of Child Protection and Permanency (Division)
within the Department of Children and Families (“Department” or
“DCF”) authorized to care for children determined by the Family Court to
be in need of care because of abuse, neglect, or other child welfare
concerns. Each state is responsible for establishing and maintaining
licensing or approval standards for foster family homes in accordance
with section 471(a)(10)(A) of the Social Security Act. The licensing
standards set by each state must be reasonably in accord with
recommended standards of national organizations for foster family homes
related to admission policies, safety, sanitation, protection of civil rights,
and use of the reasonable and prudent parenting standard. In addition,
licensed caregivers must fully meet Federal requirements concerning
criminal background checks pursuant to section 471(a)(20) of the Social
Security Act.

The New Jersey Legislature enacted the Resource Family Parent
Licensing Act (Act), N.J.S.A. 30:4C-27.3 et seq., to ensure the safety,
health, general well-being and physical, emotional, social, and
educational needs of children who are cared for outside of their home.
N.J.S.A. 30:4C-27.4. The Act directs the Department to adopt standards
governing the safety and adequacy of the homes and providers of resource
family care, including rules for license application, issuance, denial,
suspension, and revocation. The Department promulgated the rules at
N.J.A.C. 3A:51 to implement the licensing standards required by the Act
and which apply when a child in the care, custody, or guardianship of the
Department is placed for resource family care. The existing rules at
N.J.A.C. 3A:51 apply to both kinship and non-kinship resource family
care.

The Department proposes new Chapter 51A, which would provide
licensing rules specific to kinship resource family providers. On
November 27, 2023, the Administration for Children and Families issued
regulations to allow a title IV-E agency to adopt licensing or approval
standards for all relative or kinship foster family homes that are different
from the licensing or approval standards used for non-relative/non-kin
foster family homes. The Department proposes corresponding repeals and
amendments to the rules at N.J.A.C. 3A:51 to remove standards that relate
to kinship care for consistency and clarity.

NJ.A.C. 3A:51

The proposed amendments at N.J.A.C. 3A:51 seek to ensure
consistency and avoid duplication and potential confusion by removing
kinship licensing standards from the chapter, thereby ensuring that
licensing standards relating to kinship resource family providers are
codified only at proposed new N.J.A.C. 3A:51A.

N.J.A.C. 3A:51-1.2 describes the population and types of services that
are subject to the chapter’s requirements. The proposed amendments at
N.J.A.C. 3A:51-1.2(b) would delete the provisions, for which a resource
family to secure approval for the services listed at paragraphs (b)1, 2, and
3: regular foster care, kinship care, and adoptive care. The Department
seeks to remove the entire provision because it no longer identifies
subcategories of resource family services. The regular foster care services
described at paragraph (b)1 are synonymous with family care services.
The Department no longer uses the term “foster care” to identify
temporary out-of-home care of a child. The Department seeks to revise
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